Baby Ballerina

Adelaide had her ballet recital this weekend.  She took a ballet class this year that was for 2-3 year-olds so it was mostly creative movement with a pinch of ballet thrown in, but she adored it.  She loves ballet and it makes my heart jump for joy.

Adelaide was super excited for her recital.  Not only was she able to finally wear the ultra fancy costume, but she was also supposed to wear makeup.  I’m pretty sure she thought it was the best day ever.  It’s funny to me that she would be so excited about makeup seeing as I barely ever wear any myself and if I do it’s barely noticeable.  Maybe it was the fact that I have  a drawer of makeup that she is usually forbidden to play with, that was now open and being used for her.

Henry had a game and team party that conflicted with the recital so we divided and conquered.  Ben took Addy to the dress rehearsal so he was able to see her dance in person.  Molly and I took Addy to her actual recital and it was so much fun to see her perform.  She had a huge smile on her face the entire time and was not phased by the audience one bit.  She is a natural performer.  I tried to capture a video on my phone of her 45 second dance, but it didn’t work out very well because I couldn’t see over the people in front of me (short people problems) and then the lady right in front of me kept moving her head around like some sort of possessed snake.  Not that I am bitter or anything.

Watching all the different classes dance on stage really made me want to teach ballet.  I kept picking out corrections I wanted to give and things I wanted to teach them.  I wish there was room in my life right now for teaching ballet, but there isn’t.  It is more important to me to be there for my own children and available to take them to their activities and support them in their endeavors.  Maybe someday.

One thought on “Baby Ballerina

Leave a Reply

